Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

If my memory serves me right Martha Grimes’ detective Richard Jury or perhaps his old friend Melrose Plant drinks Old Peculier. All of her early Jury novels were named after pubs and they featured predominately in the novels.

Now Theakstons, the company that mixes up that fine British brew has given a nod back to the mystery genre, perhaps as a way of saying thanks, with the Theakstons Old Peculier 2009 Crime Novel of the Year Award. The short list for the readers choice award featured some of the UK’s finest crime writers. The winner this year was Mark Billingham’s novel Death Message which I confess I haven’t read (yet)

The short list offers a selection to keep most fans busy for at least a few months. This is the it:

Death Message (Mark Billingham)

The Accident Man (Tom Cain)

Bad Luck and Trouble (Lee Child)

Gone to Ground (John Harvey)

Ritual (Mo Hayder)

Garden of Evil (David Hewson)

A Cure for all Diseases (Reginald Hill)

The Colour of Blood (Declan Hughes)

Dead Man’s Footsteps (Peter James)

Broken Skin (Stuart MacBride)

Beneath the Bleeding (Val McDermid)

Exit Music (Ian Rankin)

Friend of the Devil (Peter Robinson)

Savage Moon (Chris Simms)

Good reading crime fans.

No comments:

Post a comment

Agree or disagree, I would love to hear from anyone who visits the site